· 

Ironman Augusta 70.3

Ironman Augusta 70.3

RACE REPORT by Jim Peplow

 

One thing about moving to Texas last year is that it has opened up many more race venues to me, allowing us to explore new states and areas. Last month we drove to Milwaukee for the USAT National Championships (covering 14 states in a 17-day road trip). Augusta was my furthest to the East Ironman event and we turned it into a five state 10-day trip.  The time in Augusta didn't start out so well as the morning after we arrived I went for a ride to check out the city. Since our hotel was only a couple of miles from Augusta National Golf Course (home of the Masters) I naturally went by to see it. No such luck. Everything is locked up tight and no way to even get near the course. I then rode on the Savannah Riverwalk and Augusta Canal levee trails, with a quick side trip across the River into South Carolina. Then on the way back to the hotel I realized my Garmin Edge bike computer was missing. It fell off somewhere along the levee trail. I backtracked for a few miles, but never found it. A little bummed about losing my Garmin (which was less than a year old).

 

As an Ironman All World Athlete (a designation I earned from my IM race results last year), it comes with a few perks. One of those perks is a low bib number which translates into a better bike racking position. I ended up getting bid #166 which placed me in the third row of racks. Only the pros, in the first two rows of racks, had a better position. With 27 rows of racks it was nice to be right next to the Bike in/out. In the above photo you can see my bike (yellow arrow) in comparison to the Bike In/Out (red arrow). 

 

Race day turned out to have beautiful weather, even if it was a bit warm on the run. The staging area for the swim start was at SRP Stadium (home of their local minor league baseball team). It was a nice venue to wait for the start and they even streamed the beginning of the pro race on the stadium's big screen while waiting for the age group start. The downstream swim in the Savannah River always makes for a fast swim time (although nothing comes close to the speedy swim I experienced at IM Oregon 70.3 last year). 

 

After exiting the water there was a 1/2 mile uphill dash to reach T1. Once on the bike it was a scenic ride through the Georgia countryside. I witnessed a few flat tires and mechanicals, and even one injured cyclists being taken away by an ambulance, but fortunately for me it was mostly non-eventful. There was one incident that was pretty humorous. As I was riding through an aid station I really wanted a banana. I wasn't able to grab it as I rode by so the guy that had it started to run along the course to try and get it to me. However, even riding at a slower speed there was no way he could reach me. Then someone yelled, "pass it down." It went flying through the air and someone caught it right as I was riding by them and they handed it to me. I thought it was pretty ingenious and quick thinking on their part. But that's only half the story. After all that work getting it to me, as I was trying to eat it the banana slipped out of the peel and fell to the ground so I never did get it. At the next aid station I slowed down enough to make sure I got one.   

 

As I was exiting T2 I knew I was on track to meet my time goal of breaking six hours. Whenever I compete in an IM 70.3 event I usually have two goals. One is in my control (finishing under six hours) and one isn't (finishing on the podium). In my age group of 65-69 a sub 6 hour race usually has a good chance of a podium (top 5) finish. That's one thing that keeps me motivated towards the end of the race, because slowing down may cost me a spot. In my last 70.3 race in Galveston, Texas earlier this year I finish 2nd and was only 11 seconds ahead of the 3rd place finisher. Things like that keep me moving forward. The course itself had three distinct parts. One was along the Riverwalk, one was through the downtown streets, and one was a long boring section (miles 5-10) in the middle of the route. The first few miles and the last few miles covered the same ground so we knew what to expect. With less than 3 miles to go I was feeling good and on my sub 6 hour pace. Then out of nowhere I got a terrible cramp in my left hamstring. It forced me to stop for a couple of minutes to work it out, and even when I started to run again I couldn't go quite the pace I wanted for fear it would flair up again. I ended up crossing the line at six hours and one minute (oh well).

 

But what made it even more frustrating was that when I pulled up the results it showed me in 6th place, missing the podium by one minute (stupid cramp). However, I felt better a few hours later when I looked at the results again and saw that someone who had started the swim later, so he wasn't finished yet when I first looked at the results, finished about ten minutes faster than me and pushed me down to 7th. Probably the first time I can remember being happy to actually finish lower than I thought.   

Write a comment

Comments: 3
  • #1

    Al Masterson (Sunday, 08 October 2023 15:06)

    Good job holding it together on the run. That’s always the hard part in the 70.3 events. You are so right about the 6 hours for our AG. Hope to break it soon too! Your race reports are always interesting and entertaining..

  • #2

    John Diehm (Sunday, 08 October 2023 16:39)

    Great race. Very impressive. You are an inspiration.

  • #3

    Ivan (Sunday, 08 October 2023 22:58)

    Nice job. Maybe more electrolytes day(s) before? ….and during? Pickle juice?