· 

Ironman Texas

Ironman Texas

RACE REPORT by Jim Peplow

 

 After doing the full Texas Ironman last year I didn't think I would be doing it again this year. The two main things against it were the strong winds on the bike leg - upward of 30 mph, and the nasty water on the swim. I had a miserable experience on the run and later determined, after talking to several people that also had similar experiences, that it was most likely from the water we swam in. The volunteers were the best I had even seen at any event, and the run course was fabulous. There is a reason that in the annual poll of athletes it's typically selected as the Overall Best Race in North America. If I could figure out how to overcome the wind and the water I would definitely consider a return trip to The Woodlands.  

My answer to the wind concern was addressed during the awards banquet the next morning. Overall female winner Jocelyn McCauley said this was the 7th time she's done this race and this was by far the worst wind she had ever experienced. Good I thought, chances are it won't be as bad next year. Next I did research on swimming in questionable water and discovered Activated Charcoal. One of the things it's used for is for overdoses and poisonings as it can absorb the toxins before they get into your system. With those two concerns covered, and the fact that The Woodlands is only about an hour south from where I live in College Station, I decided to give it another shot.   

Now my main concern was a right calf strain I've been dealing with for the past month. I had signed up to do the IM Texas 70.3 (in Galveston) three weeks before this race. With my training going great, I hurt my calf less than a week before Galveston. I was able to finish that race despite the calf (and even got 2nd place in my AG). But even after a few days off to rest it was not healing well. During an easy jog two weeks before the full it tightened up to the point I couldn't run on it. I decided to focus on extra biking and swimming for the two weeks and hopefully that would give it time to heal. I planned to wear compression calf sleeves during the race and even took the extra step and taped the calf (with special tape they were giving out at the expo).

This race has a clean transition which means nothing, other than your bike, can be in the transition area. The things needed for the bike and run are packed into gear bags and dropped off the day before the race. Everything is done in changing tents. After the swim you put your wetsuit and goggles into your bike bag, then after the bike you put all your bike stuff into the run bag. Normally people will still come to transition on race morning to check tire pressure, put water bottles on their bike, etc., however this swim start is a full mile from transition. The hotel we stayed at was the same one we were at last year and is one mile from both the transition and the swim start. After doing the two mile walk last year, I decided to have my tires full and my bottles in place when I dropped off my bike the day before, and only have to do the one mile walk to the start. Because I wasn't going to be checking it in the morning I racked it as late as possible (4 p.m.) the day before. 

The swim does an out and back in the lake before the final 1/3 of it up the canal. The canal looks so peaceful the day before the race, but once 2400 athletes hit the water it's a totally difference scene. One cool thing about this finish is that spectators are able to line both sides of the canal and you can hear them cheering. It's also busy during the run as we pass this area three times. In the swim queue I met up with my friend and BCS Tri teammate Noah and we entered the water at the same time. After taking my activated charcoal shortly before the swim the only glitch was that my nose plug broke as I was putting it on right before entering the water. Not a huge thing, but it did cause me to have to deal with a scratchy throat and a runny nose for most the bike leg. It wasn't my fastest swim, but I was happy with it and the fact I could finally get on the bike.   

After last year's 24-30 mph winds straight from the south, I was excited that the forecast called for 8-9 mph winds coming from the SE. That would mean a quartering headwind going south and a quartering tail wind coming back north. The first 20 miles of the bike is a nice warm up through city streets before reaching the meat of the course – 84 brutal miles on the Hardy Toll Road. This portion of the race consists of two full south and north loops with each segment being 21 miles. The entire course is "relatively" flat, but being on the toll road there is no protection from the wind, and guess what, the forecasters were wrong. It wasn't as bad as last year, but the winds ended up being around 18-20 mph, with gusts into the 20s. My total average speed ended up being 17.2. On the southbound segments it was 14.5, while the northbound segments were 20.0. (Compared to last year's 16.9/13/23).  

One interesting thing that happened right as I was merging onto the Hardy Toll Road is that the woman's leader on the bike was in that same exact spot starting her second loop. The TV camera was focused on her and I was directly in line with it. I thought that if they were showing live coverage of her at that time I might be on camera. Sure enough, when I got home and watched a replay I was right there. You can click this link to see that clip.  The clip is 11 seconds and I appear 6 seconds into it, wearing a red bike jersey with white arm sleeves.    

After getting off the bike it was finally time to test my right calf. I eased into the run and thankfully I never felt the right calf the entire race! (I had been praying for two things about this race. One was no mechanical issues on the bike and the other was that my calf would hold up for run. Both those were answered. Thank you Lord). (Addendum added three days after I posted this report - I was going to do a bike ride today, my first since the IM, and it had a flat back tire. About 3/4 of the way through the bike leg I had a weird feeling that I may have run over something and I kept looking down at the back tire to see if it was going flat. It never did. But, apparently my intuition was right. Fortunately it stayed inflated for the remainder of the race and was only a slow leak. Once again, thank you Lord!) With temps approaching 80° there were some sections of the course that were a bit of a struggle. The course is three loops of just under 9 miles each. There were a couple of times mid race I had to take a short walking break, but the great thing about this venue is that there are amazing spectators and volunteers the entire way. They are very encouraging and keep you pumped up, especially the famed "Hippie Hollow". Running through here is an experience unlike many others, reminiscent of the Wellesley Scream Tunnel during the Boston Marathon. It's fun during the daylight hours, but on my third and final pass after dark it was a totally different experience. (The competitors that are so fast they miss the evening version of the Hollow don't know what they are missing. Although truth be told, it would be more fun to be that fast).  

One thing that kept driving me at the end was thoughts of a potential podium finish. Although once IM announced this was going to be the Americas Championship race I knew the field was going to be stacked. I just didn't realize how stacked it was going to be. Despite a time 48 minutes better that last year I placed five spots lower (from 8th to 13th). The time that won my AG last year would not have even placed this year. You know it's a deep field when Hall of Famer Kurt Madden, one of the all time greats, only managed to finish 4th.  

There was a lot of talk the next morning at the awards banquet about how exciting the finish of the Pro Men's race was, so when I got home I watched the replay. The top 3 kept pushing each other all day and at the end only 21 seconds separated the top 3, which for a full Ironman race is amazingly close. 

Beside getting the Finisher's Belt Buckle Medal for this race, I also received the "Texas Two-Step" medal for completing in this race and the Texas 70.3 (Galveston) three weeks earlier. Also, because of my IM race results last year I earned All World Athlete Silver status which I picked up at this race. One of the benefits is a low bib number and priority bike racking position. Always fun to get those extra little perks.

 

Now that I've completed these two races my next scheduled events are the USAT National Spirit Championship in Milwaukee (Wisconsin) at the beginning of August, and Ironman Augusta (Georgia) 70.3 in September.  

Write a comment

Comments: 4
  • #1

    Ivan (Tuesday, 25 April 2023 19:47)

    Meh…..I guess it’s ok considering u got closed lined not too long ago and where in the hospital for the n-teenth time!
    As always, nice going! ��

  • #2

    Great Journey (Tuesday, 25 April 2023 20:38)

    Thank you for posting this. it is an inspiration for my Journey in the IM 70.3 Waco in 2024
    48 min better but placed lesser, na, never, better is always great. please keep the stories coming.

  • #3

    Michael Roberts (Wednesday, 26 April 2023)

    Jim, Thanks for posting your race report. It caught my attention because I'm in your age group and finished 11 seconds behind you in Galveston and just ahead of you at IMTX. Now I know who to watch out for! I was having a good IMTX through T2 but then suffered severe abdominal pain through the last 23 miles of the run which resulted in my slowest marathon ever. Sometimes everything goes right and I have a terrific race, but most often, there is at least one thing that doesn't go according to plan. I'll keep plugging away because those terrific races are worth it. Good luck in Milwaukee and Augusta and I hope to see you in a future race!

  • #4

    Gordon (Thursday, 27 April 2023 09:42)

    Wow! What a cool adventure. I am so glad I got to read about it. Thank you for sharing Jim!